A R KA N S A S ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

ENERGY & ENVIRONMENT

May 6, 2020

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Gail Mainard, Assistant Director

Arkansas Department of Correction - North Central Unit, Izard County Facility
P.O. Box 8707

Pine Bluff, AR 71611

RE: First Permit Expiration Notification
NPDES Permit Number AR0044016, AFIN 33-00036
Arkansas Department of Correction - North Central Unit, Izard County Facility

Dear Mr. Mainard:

A review of our records indicates that your NPDES Discharge Permit will expire on 4/30/2021. In accordance with federal and state
regulations, permittees wishing to continue discharging wastewater prior to and following the expiration date of their permit are
required to apply for a renewal permit not less than 180 days (i.e., 6 months) prior to the permit’s expiration date (i.e., 11/1/2020)
in accordance with 40 CFR Part 122.21(d).

Please complete the required application forms and return them to the address at the bottom of this letter as soon as possible.
Documents may also be submitted by email in PDF format to water-permit-application@adeq.state.ar.us. Please be advised that the
Division’s Disclosure Statement Form has recently been revised and the latest form must be submitted. Please be advised that
ALL the required effluent testing data MUST be obtained and submitted with the application forms.

Copies of the required NPDES Permit renewal forms can be obtained at the following website:
https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/water/permits/npdes/individual/

Due to the large number of renewal applications received by the Division, a complete application must be received by 11/1/2020.
Any NPDES permit that expires without the receipt of a renewal application will no longer be valid. In such a case, a new permit
application must be submitted. Any facility discharging past the termination of its NPDES permit will be unlawful and may be
subject to formal enforcement action which could include fines up to $10,000 per day.

If our records are incorrect or if you do not desire to renew your permit, you MUST submit a letter terminating the permit including
the current status of the facility and why the permit is no longer needed. If you need additional time to complete and submit the
application forms (which cannot be more than 90 days prior to the expiration date of the permit), please respond by letter to the
address below or by email to the address above as soon as possible. Failure to submit the requested information could result in
enforcement action.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. If there are any questions concerning this submittal, please contact Terry Liu, P.E. at
501-682-0653 or by email at Liu@adeq.state.ar.us.

Sincerely,

QW'C“LW

Jessica Sears, P.E.
NPDES Engineer Supervisor
Office of Water Quality

cc:  Richard Healey, Branch Manager, Office of Water Quality Enforcement Branch
Leslie Allen-Daniel, Office of Water Quality Enforcement Branch

Division of Environmental Quality
5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118
adeq.state.ar.us





